Navigation

Exceptional Education at the Heart of the Community

Exceptional Education at the Heart of the Community

Secondary Transfer

Moving on

Oasis Academy Putney offers support to our Year 6 children when the time comes for them to make decisions about their future. We also offer advice and guidance to parents in helping out with the process of their child’s transfer to secondary school, for example, every July our prospective Year 6 parents are invited to attend a meeting about secondary school application and transfer.

Transfer for September 2023

If your child is currently in Year 5 and will be due to transfer to secondary school in September 2023 please visit the following website for important information, including how to apply and when to attend an open day:

 http://www.wandsworth.gov.uk/

Applications for transfer open from 1st September 2023.

Click here to see the Applying for a Wandsworth Secondary School leaflet.

Please note: all application forms for secondary transfer must be received by 31st October 2023. This includes both online and postal applications.

You can find the slides from our secondary transfer meeting available here. 

National Offer Day

If you apply online you will be emailed the outcome of your application on the evening of 1st March 2023.  If you apply on a paper form you will be sent an outcome letter by first class mail on 1st March 2023.

You will also be sent a notification letter if it has not been possible to offer your first preference school. The notification letter will provide detailed information about the outcome of your application and what do next.

Independent schools

Independent schools are not funded by Wandsworth Council and therefore each independent school will have their own separate admission process. There are a variety of Independent Schools in Wandsworth or within easy reach of the borough. Some independent schools offer the possibility of financial assistance in the form of bursaries or scholarships. Please contact the independent school you are interested in directly to find out their admission and transfer process.

 
At Oasis Academy Putney, we are committed to preparing all of our pupils for their next stage of learning and this includes ensuring they are ‘secondary ready’ and prepared for the transition into Year 7. The school supports families extremely well during the Secondary Transfer process. Below are links to some of the local schools that parents may find helpful. 
 
Co-educational State Schools

ARK Academy Putney http://www.arkputney.org/

Ashcroft http://www.atacademy.org.uk

Chestnut Grove School http://www.chestnutgrove.wandsworth.sch.uk

Graveney http://www.graveney.org

Harris Academy Battersea http://www.harrisbattersea.org.uk/

Saint Cecilia’s http://www.saintcecilias.london/

St. John Bosco College http://www.sjbc.wandsworth.sch.uk

Southfields Academy http://www.southfields.wandsworth.sch.uk

 

All Girls' State Schools

Burntwood School http://www.burntwoodschool.com

Lady Margaret School http://www.ladymargaret.lbhf.sch.uk/

Ricards Lodge http://ricardslodge.merton.sch.uk/

Sacred Heart http://www.sacredhearthigh.org.uk/

Tiffin Girls School http://www.tiffingirls.kingston.sch.uk/

Ursuline http://www.ursulinehigh.merton.sch.uk

 

All Boys' State Schools
 
 
 
 

Tiffin School (Boys) http://www.tiffinschool.co.uk

Wallington County Grammar School www.wcgs-sutton.co.uk 

Wilson’s School www.wilsons.school

Wimbledon College http://www.wimbledoncollege.org.uk

 

Independent Schools (fee-paying private schools)

Caterham School https://www.caterhamschool.co.uk/

Emanuel http://www.emanuel.org.uk

Hampton Boys http://hamptonschool.org.uk/

King's College School https://www.kcs.org.uk

Kingston Grammar http://www.kgs.org.uk

Notre Dame  https://www.notredame.co.uk/

Putney High https://www.putneyhigh.gdst.net/

Reed's https://www.reeds.surrey.sch.uk/

Surbiton High http://www.surbitonhigh.com

Whitgift http://www.whitgift.co.uk